Out of stock

Kyriakos Sfetsas ‎– Greek Fusion Orchestra Vol.2 (Yellow)



Out of stock


Label: Teranga Beat ‎– TBLP 023
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Deluxe Edition, Limited Edition, Stereo, YELLOW TRANSPARENT
Country: Greece
Released: 24 May 2019
Genre: Jazz, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Fusion, Avant-garde Jazz, Free Jazz, Jazz-Funk


1 Με Παραδοσιακό Τρόπο – On a Folk Mode 6:37
2 Η Χήρα – The Widow 6:39
3 40 Βήματα – 40 Steps 7:33
4 Σέλιανη – Seliani 5:20
5 Από Ξένο Τόπο – From a Foreign Land 5:32
6 Σημάδια – Imprints 5:04
7 Εναλλακτική Άποψη – Alternative Aspect 7:03


  • Alto Saxophone, Clarinet – Μάνθος Χαλκιάς
  • Bass – Γιώργος Θεοδωρίδης
  • Composed By, Directed By – Κυριάκος Σφέτσας
  • Drums – Δημήτρης Μαρινάκης
  • Guitar, Lute – Νίκος Τάτσης
  • Piano – Γιάννης Τερεζάκης
  • Recorded By – Γιάννης Συγλέτος
  • Tenor Saxophone, Flute – Γιώργος Μανίκας


Limited Edition Yellow Vinyl with silkscreened Tote Bag, exclusive edition of Diskadiko record shop! 90 only numbered LP.

TERANGA BEAT proudly presents Vol.2 of Kyriakos Sfetsas’ 1976 “Greek Fusion Orchestra” project. Sfetsas’ vision behind the formation of GFO, was to create a piece of work that would expand the boundaries of Greek traditional music. The result was a Progressive-Jazz Fusion masterpiece comprising complex and intriguing compositions, performed by Athens’ best musicians of the day.

Following the success of Vol.1, Vol.2 is a compilation of musical pieces Sfetsas recorded with the group right upon the completion of the Vol. 1 material. Vol.2 is still reflective of his ambition of bringing together progressive jazz and traditional music, but it does so in a different manner. Although the element of traditional music remains present, it does not provide the compositional foundation for the songs (e.g. most pieces are no longer based exclusively on traditional musical forms). More jazzy and more complex than Vol.1, Vol.2 has a darker feeling, presenting Sfetsas not only as a musical experimentalist, but also as a demanding and distinctive composer, who truly puts his musicians through the test.

The recordings on this album are previously unreleased and form only a small part of his overall body of work with the GFO. The music was originally recorded Stereo on Reel Tape with highest standards for the time, with the modern mastering process highlighting even more their original sound quality. The result is a truly impressive and pure audiophile album, even slightly better than Vol.1 on that regard.

The LP version of the album is a Deluxe Edition and comes with a high gloss laminated gatefold cover, a printed insert and a digital download code.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5213000760194